lta logo

Romain Dicken inducted as member of the Taekwondo Hall of Fame

Kukkiwon (Korea)

25 August 2011

There is only a very short list of the most notable Taekwondo pioneers, players, and champions who have been inducted to the list Taekwondo Hall of Fame. Romain Dicken was given this honor on August 25, 2011 as one of very few Europeans.

Created in 1999, the Taekwondo Hall of Fame is an international organization of technical advisers that is responsible for identifying, recognizing and honoring persons, and groups who have significantly contributed to the development, growth, and advancement of Taekwondo as a martial art and global sport. Famous members of the Taekwondo Hall of Fame are Choi Hong Hi, Chuck Norris, Henk Meijer, and Dong Keun Park. Award ceremonies took place in 2007 (USA), 2009 (USA), and 2011 (Kukkiwon).

In addition to identifying legitimate masters and champions, the Taekwondo Hall of Fame attempts to preserve and present a true and complete account of the accomplishments of others whose contributions to our martial art have been forgotten over the years due to the passage of time.

Romain Dicken, who was present at the award ceremony at Kukkiwon, the Taekwondo World Headquarters in Korea, holds a black belt 3th Dan in Taekwondo. He was a recognized Taekwondo player and participated in all majors sports events around the world. He won many national and international titles.

Today, he is a devoted instructor of the clubs in Bettembourg, Dudelange, and Larochette. Among his students are many successful competitors (A- and G-class finalists) like Christine Schmit, the Taekwondo sportswoman of the year 2010. Romain Dicken is also a pioneer in his martial art in Luxembourg. He has been appointed President of the “Luxembourg Taekwondo Association” (LTA) on August 4, 2011.

Having a member induced at the Taekwondo Hall of Fame is one of the greatest possible honors for a sportsman and of Taekwondo in Luxembourg. We would like to express our respect to Romain Dicken for his devotion and efforts in the promotion in Taekwondo in Luxembourg.

Romain Dicken would like to express his gratitude towards the 2nd US division for the demonstration of Taekwondo an towards Gerrard Robbins for the organization.

Article in Tagelatt

Gianni Cappellano new LTA president

Gianni Cappellano new LTA president

The LTA is delighted to announce the appointment of Gianni Cappellano as new President on February 19, 2013. Gianni Cappellano holds the 3d dan in Taekwondo and trains in the clubs of Esch/Alzette and Junglinster.

Joe Brink, sportsman of the year

Joe Brink, sportsman of the year

For his excellent results at competitions and his efforts in the promotion of Taekwondo, Joe Brink was elected LTA sportsman of the year.